top of page


George V. Eleftheriades received his Diploma in Electrical Engineering fro the National Technical University of Athens. He earned the M.S.E.E. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1989 and 1993 respectively,  where he was involved in the development of sub-millimeter-wave and THz technology sponsored by NASA. From 1994-1997 he was with the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne, where he was engaged in the design of millimetre and sub-millimetre wave receivers for the European Space Agency.

Currently he is a Professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto, where he held the Canada Research Chair in Nano- and Micro-Structured Electromagnetic Materials and Applications. Professor Eleftheriades is a recognized international authority and pioneer in the area of metamaterials. These are man-made media which have electromagnetic properties not found in nature.

Professor Eleftheriades introduced a method for synthesizing metamaterials using loaded transmission lines. Together with his graduate students, he provided the first experimental evidence of imaging beyond the diffraction limit with a Veselago-Pendry lens and pioneered several novel microwave and optical components, and antennas using these transmission-line based metamaterials.

Professor Eleftheriades served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (AP). He also served as a member of the IEEE AP-Society Administrative Committee (AdCom) during 2007-2012 and was an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer from 2004-2009.

He served as the general Chair of the 2010 IEEE Intl. Symposium on Antennas and Propagation held in Toronto. He is the TPC co-chair for the 2020 IEEE Intl. Symposium on Antennas and Propagation.  His current research interests are in the  areas of electromagnetic  metasurfaces and metamaterials, super-resolution imaging, small antennas and components for broadband wireless communications, novel antenna beam-steering techniques, plasmonic and nanoscale optical components and fundamental electromagnetic theory.


  • 2019 Distinguished Achievement Award from the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society.

  • 2018 Recipient of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (FASE) Research Leadership Award.

  • 2015 Recipent of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society John Kraus Antenna Award.

  • Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada since 2009.

  • Fellow of the IEEE since 2006.

  • IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Technical Field Award (2008).

  • NSERC Steacie Fellow (2004).

  • Ontario Premier’s Research Excellence Award (2001).

  • Piergiorgio L. E. Uslenghi Best Paper Award for: M. Selvanayagam and G.V. Eleftheriades, ``Circuit modelling of Huygens Surfaces", IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagat. Letters} , vol. 12, pp. 1642-1645, 2013.

  • 2010 IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Best Paper Award (co-authored with Loïc Markley)

  • 2008 RWP King Best Paper Award from the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (co-authored with Ashwin Iyer)

  • 2012 RWP King Best Paper Award from the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (co-authored with Alex Wong)

Short Bio Prof. Eleftheriades: CV
bottom of page